Share Your 2010 Reflections + 2011 Predictions (From Sew, Mama, Sew)

Sew, Mama, Sew survey and  answers…

Looking back on the sewing scene of 2010, what trends stand out in your mind?
Quilting seems to just get bigger every year!  That, and I’ve seen a real lovely trend towards DIY and sharing knowledge through tutorials.

What were some of your favorite things? (Trends, fabric collections, patterns, blogs? Whatever you really loved.)
I loved seeing some of the scrapbook paper patterns come to fabric: the bright colors, the modern themes.

What was your very favorite fabric collection or print? (If not listed above.)
Hands down, Sanctuary by Patty Young. I want to live in that collection.

What was the best thing you made in 2010? (Be sure to share a photo!)
I only just started sewing but I made myself a messenger bag that I may have to make 20 of now!

What is one of the best things you saw that was made by someone else?
I’m hard pressed to choose. I don’t have a little girl, but this men’s shirt into a dress was adorable!

What do you think 2011 has in store? (Again, trends, fabric, patterns, etc.)
I’m guessing we’ll see a return to the more neutral tones, with hints of color for many things. Then a continuance of the bold prints used more as accents.

Anything you’re ready for the sewing world to get over?
Quilting ¬.¬ I have no interest so I tend to pass that by.  I’m just jumping on the DIY sewing bandwagon, though. Who knows what 2011 may bring me…

What’s on your sewing agenda for 2011? What are you excited about? What would you like to learn more about?
Zippers.  I must conquer the zipper.  So far the count is me:0, zipper: 1.
Also, I’d like to eventually brave items of clothing. I’m sticking to rectangles and such that can be formed into bags and accessories for now, but eventually I’m going to want to branch out into something I can wear.  Since I wear mostly knits, I’m also going to have to brave my sewing nemesis from 12 years ago: the knit fabric.

Leave a Reply

